This report has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the National Academies’ Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the process.

We wish to thank the following individuals for their review of this report: Robert Birgeneau, University of California, Berkeley; Claudia Goldin, Harvard University; Susan Graham, University of California, Berkeley; Jo Handelsman, University of Wisconsin; Maria Klawe, Harvey Mudd College; J. Scott Long, Indiana University; Colm O’Muircheartaigh, University of Chicago; Barbara Reskin, University of Washington; Johanna Levelt Sengers, National Institute of Standards and Technology; and Richard Zare, Stanford University.

Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive com­ments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the conclusions or rec­ommendations, nor did they see the final draft of the report before its release. The review of this report was overseen by Stephen Fienberg, Carnegie Mellon University and Mildred Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Appointed by the National Academies, they were responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.

We would like to thank all the faculty and departments who took the time to complete our surveys. We greatly appreciate the effort, and the report could not have been a success without their help. In addition, the committee would like to thank staff of the project for their assistance, including Charlotte Kuh, deputy executive director of the Policy and Global Affairs Division; Catherine Didion, the current director of the Committee on Women in Science, Engineering and Medicine (CWSEM); Michael Cohen, senior program officer of the Committee on National Statistics; Marilyn Baker, director for reports and communications for the Policy and Global Affairs Division; Jong-on Hahm, who managed the project as the former director of CWSEM; Peter Henderson, who took over as study director and interim director of CWSEM; John Sislin, program officer; Jim Voytuk, senior program officer and George Reinhart, former senior program offi­cer for their assistance with data and surveys; Elizabeth Briggs; Jessica Buono; Jacqueline Martin; Amber Carrier; Melissa McCartney; Norman Bradburn, who consulted on the surveys and data; John Tsapogas for assistance with Survey of Doctorate Recipients data; Dan Heffron for assistance with National Survey of Postsecondary Faculty data; and Rachel Ivie, Roman Czujko, and everyone at the American Institute of Physics, who implemented the surveys.